Training with an air pistol question

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

sakurama

Training with an air pistol question

Post by sakurama »

So I'm just getting started in Bullseye and I picked up a couple of air pistols to train with in the garage. It helps with getting the process down but one thing I find confusing is the sites.

If you shoot with a dot on your bullseye gun (i do) should you be training with the same or similar on your air pistol? I have an IZH 46 (with dot) and a FWB 65 (open sights) and the experience is much different between them. Are you trying to mimic the entire experience as much as possible or is it a different but related experience like a form of cross training? Obviously I don't have the same space so already I'm limited to shooting 5m with a smaller target but should I be making the attempt to mimic my bullseye experience?

How do you use the air pistol to train?

G
GOVTMODEL

Training with the Air Pistol

Post by GOVTMODEL »

For me it's all about trigger control. Duplicating the perfect sight picture is far less important.
Rover

Post by Rover »

I kinda go with the above, but if you ever want to shoot Olmpic-style pistol (including air pistol) it's all open sights.

I find that it's much easier to shoot a dot than iron sights, so all my training is iron sights. With iron you focus on the sights, with Dot on the bull. This requires different glasses.
sakurama

Post by sakurama »

Makes sense I guess. I just find iron to be much less precise but I suppose that's the inherent difficulty. I'd love to compete in air pistol as well but there doesn't seem to be any options here in the Pacific North Wet.

That leads to my next question then about iron sights: in Olympic or air pistol is the center hold or 6 o'clock hold used? I grew up with 6 o'clock but I've heard it's less precise.
Rover

Post by Rover »