Which Ultra Dot?

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

Rimfire Ric

Which Ultra Dot?

Post by Rimfire Ric »

Hi all;
I am new to Bulls Eye shooting and shooting in a winter .22 only league on indoor range at local gun club. I have shot two weeks now with open sights and I'm ready to get a red dot. I'm interested in The ultra dot 1" with 4 MOA dot, and the Ultra dot match four 30MM with 2, 4, 6, & 8 MOA adjustable dots. However the 4 dot cost $100 more than the 1" 4 moa. Is it worth the additional cost for what I am doing or would the 1" 4 MOA serve my purpose?

Thank you;

Ric
gulliver62

I would go with the 1"

Post by gulliver62 »

The 1" will "server your purpose".
The multiple dot sizes is a nice option. However, for a new shooter I would recommend getting the 1" tube and spend the spare $100 on ammo.

As you progress, you may decide you want the 4 dot option. You should be able to find someone in your club to let you try it out. I find I like the 1" tube more than the 30mm (which stinks because most of mine are 30mm right now).
Isabel1130

Post by Isabel1130 »

I really think it is whatever you get used to. If you are just going to shoot indoors, the four moa single dot scope will be fine. In my opinion it doesn't really matter if it is one inch or 30mm. It is whatever you get used to. However, if you are going to shoot outdoors, and are going to shoot 45, you may find that being able to really crank up the dot is very helpful, especially with an uncovered firing point. If you go with the single dot (4MOA) scope, do not lose the polarized filter that you can put on the end. You're gonna need it.
Bob-Riegl

Post by Bob-Riegl »

I would suggest the 30mm over the 1" as when during timed and rapid fire you can "lose" the dot more easily than the 30mm a wider tube and optics......"Doc"
GunRunner

Post by GunRunner »