Starting out in 10M

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Head

Starting out in 10M

Post by Head »

Hello

I was wondering how old a child should be to start in 10m Air Rifle? I would like my son to start. Also what would be some good theory for me to read so I know how to start him right. Is there a rifle that will work for a starter and competition?

Thanks.
sbrmike

Post by sbrmike »

PA 4-H has 8 years old as the minimum age. That is a good age. The Daisy 853 or 753 are accurate enough for sure but kind of heavy and you will be doing the pumping for quite a few years for the child. You may also need to cut the stock shorter. They also have a CO2 version, the 888.

We used the Crosman 2000 when they first came out. They were a nice gun but not accurate enough at all. They have since started making those with Lothar Walther barrels and that should have done the trick. I have no experience with them since the barrel change, but I would certainly give it a try. It is lighter and more adjustable than the Daisy 853 plus it is CO2 so there is no pumping.

I was at a FNRA banquet last night and they had a little Beeman CO2 with target sites. I bet it is cheap enough to try; if it is accurate enough it should work for awhile, but it looks like a very small, basic beginner model.
Head

Post by Head »

Thanks for the info..I have a Crossman 2000, the older one, I will try to start with that. It may be a bit too big but I may have to wait a while until he is bigger. Thanks again.
heebs

Post by heebs »