Rifle Advice Needed

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

joebyrne

Rifle Advice Needed

Post by joebyrne »

Hi,

I am just getting into shooting, and want to eventually get into military rifles, but I thought for the moment I would start with a more modern rifle to learn the sport and then worry about rifles like the Springfield's, K98's etc down the track.

I won't really get a chance to go hunting, so it will be mainly target shooting which is less then 2mins from my house. These are the rifles I have been thinking about at this stage, unless anyone has a better idea. I am also located in Australia in case that has any bearing.

The Anschutz Model 54
Tikka T3 Varmit
Tikka T3 Super Varmit

Still a month away from being able to purchase anything (stupid Australian gun laws) so I am just trying to take as much in as possible.

Great site here guys I hope to learn heaps, and sorry if I bust your balls with the beginner questions but we all got to start somewhere ;)
justadude

Post by justadude »

Other than the fact that they both involve shooting you will find there is a vast difference between vintage service rifles and modern smallbore target rifles.

In the same vein, an Anschutz target rifle and a Tikka don't have much in common. (is the Tikka T3 even available in 22LR?)

Most of the rifle shooters down in the Rifle and Air Rifle section are shooting Anschutz, Walther, Feinwerkbau that is the bulk of them, there are a few other less common rifles out there.