Considering AP ?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
toddinjax

Considering AP ?

Post by toddinjax »

Hi all,

I'm considering a target pistol, pretty much just for (serious) fun; challenging myself, getting better by building skill rather than buying $$$ gear. I've been shooting AR for 2 months but now I'm weighing my options.
So, how should I put this... is 10 meter pistol just impossibly difficult? Go ahead and tell me the truth, don't sugar coat it. I understand that a pistol is less accurate than a rifle but is it also much more difficult to hold on point? I know AP target is a little bigger than AR - is that because of the lessened accuracy of a pistol vs rifle or the physical challenge of holding the pistol.
I'm 49 years, 20/20 vision with my (thick) eye glasses. How do you aim a BLACK notch and post sight at a dot in a BLACK circle?
If I do end up shooting AP, it won't be a $2000 PCP. I've read mostly good thongs about the IZZY 46M and a few bad things. Would a Weihrauch HW75 be a good tool for my situation, that is, home shooting not international competition. I want a gun to shoot not to repair or tweak/modify, nice trigger, built to last, least maintenance and accurate.
Is there a comparable book to Ways of the Rifle for target pistol?

Thanks for all replies.
AK Pistol

Post by AK Pistol »

Air Pistols are just as accurate as air rifles but are more difficult to hold still.
Brian M

Post by Brian M »

AR and AP are better than 90% the same ~ it's the mental aspect that makes up that 90%.