Problem with broken firing pins on Anschütz

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Paul

Problem with broken firing pins on Anschütz

Post by Paul »

I've been using a Scatt for about a year now and I just broke my 4th firing pin yesterday on my 1800 series Anschütz. I use the special 1807T-12 firing pin made especially for dry firing. There must be something wrong: any idea of what might cause this problem ?

RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

I would assume the pin is not meant to physically strike anything but because it's breaking it obviously is. I'm no expert so can't suggest what to do to fix the problem, but it would surely do no harm to dry fire with a snap cap so the pin doesn't stike the breech face.

Just had another thought, why can't you just use the broken pin ?

Rob.
Soupy44

Post by Soupy44 »

Agreed with use a broken pin. That way, there's no chance of anything hitting the breech face. Take out your match pin and there's no chance of it breaking as well.

You can also put a used case in and dry fire with it.

Also, does the spring in the picture look bent to anyone else?
TerryKuz

Post by TerryKuz »

I would try cutting the spring down so it does it has less energy. Maybe you could email Anschutz and ask their advice. Maybe they will send a new pin? Good luck.
Anschutz

Post by Anschutz »

Soupy44 wrote:Agreed with use a broken pin. That way, there's no chance of anything hitting the breech face. Take out your match pin and there's no chance of it breaking as well.

You can also put a used case in and dry fire with it.

Also, does the spring in the picture look bent to anyone else?
The springs not bent just compressed, check you have the right firing pin, is it shorted than the original one,also check the face of the breech for any marks.Its hitting something to cause it to break
Paul

Post by Paul »