Smallbore sight recommendations

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Shooterer

Smallbore sight recommendations

Post by Shooterer »

I will be purchasing an Anschutz 1913 in a 1918 precise stock this year and I have a few questions for you seasoned smallbore shooters. I am new to this game and I don’t want to have to buy twice (or over buy) if I don’t need to.

I have been shooting Highpower match rifles for a while now and my sights are Phoenix Precision with a Centra adjustable iris (no colors) in the rear and a 22mm Sinclair in the front with a Gehman horizontal iris.

This new rifle will be primarily used for indoor 4P shooting at the A-36 target with the occasional 50m and at least 2 ” Mini Palma” 200m matches per year. I am currently shooting a Kimber 82G with stock sights, so anything would be a huge improvement.

So here are my questions:
1. Do I just buy the default 7020/10 sight set and be done with it?
2. Do I need a $500 set or would I be fine with spending $300 (6864/10)
3. Do I stay with the standard 18mm in front or go to the a 22mm
4. Do I just buy a 11mm to Weaver adapter and use my Phoenix?

Any “if it were me” or “I wish I would have…” comments would be appreciated. I know that later on I will be adding accessories to the sights to buy points, but for now I just want to start with a good foundation.

Also, thank you Scott for hosting this forum and to all you posters for giving a “newbie” insight into this sport (which by the way is a lot harder than it looks from the outside)

Jim
mobarron

Post by mobarron »

If you don't mind changing zeros, your hipower sights will work just fine. In fact, I think that you might find the Anschutz 7020 annoying. It's very bulky and blocks your vision forward much more than your highpower sight. Mike Barron
davidd

Post by davidd »

Use your exisiting sights until you call Gary for another Phoenix rear sight!
KennyB

Post by KennyB »

My 2¢...

1. The 7020 set isn't bad at all.