Dry Firing

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

peterz

Dry Firing

Post by peterz »

As a newbie I'm beginning to understand why dry firing is essential -- I didn't basically until asking on this forum -- but I find that the books I have, Yur' Yev and "Air Rifle Shooting," don't go into the subject very deeply. Could I ask a couple of naive questions?

1) Is dry firing primarily to work on eye-finger skills, meaning mostly learning to concentrate on the front sight while squeezing the trigger, or is it more comprehensive, involving stance as well?

2) Is it important (for pistol) to stand in the shooting position, or is practice while seated also useful? One advantage of the latter is that I can stay in the same room with my wife rather than running to the basement range.

3) Are there essential differences in the dry firing drill between 10m pistol and 10 m air rifle that I should take into account?

4) And related but separate: after weeks of improvement in my trigger pull, suddenly I've started to jerk like a rank beginner, and as a result can barely find the barn let alone the bull. Are there some good exercises to work on getting back to a smooth squeeze? I can squeeze very decently when I support either pistol or rifle on a sandbag.

Thanks,

-pete
Last edited by peterz on Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

Best dry firing is against a wall standing, in the shooting position. But you can also do some dry firing seated etc but it's only any use if you concentrate on it 100%. You still need to go back to standing dry firing as well though because you don't shoot sitting down.