Is it possible to dry fire in FWB 601

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

dsaptarshi

Is it possible to dry fire in FWB 601

Post by dsaptarshi »

Hi,

I am new to shooting, presently own a FWB 601, I am willing to know is it possible to dry fire FWB 601 , if yes how ? is there any special gear that is needed to attach in my rifle or is there any way/trick is there which I am not aware of .

Thanks for your help

Regards
Datta
JSBmatch

Post by JSBmatch »

Comparing the FWB 601 to all the latest compressed air rifles and the answer is no. You will have to cock the rifle in the usual way but don't load a pellet, thats the nearest you will get to a dry fire. I have never heard of any body modifying the mechanism so you can dry fire, i don't think its possible. FWB do not make any attachment so you can dry fire.

Having said all that, don't be put off by this as it is a great air rifle and too good to miss.
JSB

Post by Guest »

You will have to cock the rifle in the usual way but don't load a pellet, thats the nearest you will get to a dry fire. I have never heard of any body modifying the mechanism so you can dry fire, i don't think its possible. FWB do not make any attachment so you can dry fire.
Thanks JSB, but that leads to ask me another stupid question, I know dry firing in Springer’s is not possible due to the risk of damaging the compression chamber and piston will directly slam on the wall , does the same applied to SSP, Pre Charged Pneumatics are using valve mechanisms so it won’t hurt them anyway but what about SSP's are they using valve too, to release air from compression tube? Or the piston actually hit compression chamber wall when I pull the trigger (Coz though, very negligible but I noticed very minute amount of recoil upon firing), in that case not using the pellet will remove the cushioning effect and may damage the system.