Help! New Shooter

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

LCMSmedic

Help! New Shooter

Post by LCMSmedic »

I wanna get into shooting, but I have no experience with guns and am 13. Can anybody tell me what to do to get into the sport? I live in La Mirada, CA.
Last edited by LCMSmedic on Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
little_doodie

Post by little_doodie »

we would need to know aproximately your location.
town and state if in the USA.
there are many good junior programs near me.
WRC

Post by WRC »

With no experience with guns, I'd recommend the first thing you do is find an NRA Basic Rifle Course. It should give you classroom learning and some range time for familiarization. You'll also learn about clubs and programs in (hopefully) your area. There are also courses for Pistol, and Shotgun. You'll need to decide what events you'd like to try - all 3 guns (pistol, rifle, shotgun) have various events that are shot. Rifle has 3 position, or prone, or air rifle in standing only, etc.

The NRA website should have listings of courses, and clubs. One thing for LA, is do a search here on TargetTalk for "Chino", because I think there is still some airgun being shot at the Prado Tiro (1984 Olympic) range (at Prado Dam park south of Chino).
E.K.

not far from your home

Post by E.K. »

If you like shoot rifle try LARR (LA Rifle and Revolver)
located Pomona HWY (60HWY) ) and Rosemead and weekend
more than 30 kids practice there ask Ray (714-612-4585)
they have big match 4th July weeknd
or if you like start with air pistol
we are locate Rowland Heights 60Hwy and Nogales
and we just started air pistol(p.p.p) for Jr. (youth)
Senator Vitaman

Post by Senator Vitaman »

If you want to shoot you need to be safe, so always obey the 4 gun safety rules.