getting more shooter in league

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

little_doodie

getting more shooter in league

Post by little_doodie »

I belong to a Rifle team south of Boston that basically shoots 1/4 course 3 position Rifle any sights on the A36 target.
I have been shooting in this league for 25+ years and there has been a steady decline in smallbore rifle so I and open for ideas.
We where tossing around the idea of adding light rifle to the competition.
for many years we shot on the A17 target and about 10+- years ago we switched to the A36.
Maybe switch back to the A17? add the A32 for light rifle Both?
Any feedback would be great.
TomAmlie

Post by TomAmlie »

There’s a local smallbore league near me (south-central PA) that also seems to have slowly declining levels of participation. I’m guilty as well, since I allocate my limited league time to bullseye and High Power.

The obvious answer is that you need to be bringing juniors into the fold. If you can’t bring juniors into the sport, the league will die as the older shooters do.

That does have some implications:
1. A-17 versus A-36: Thinking back to my own youth, I think it would have been much less fun to have started on the A-36 rather than the A-17. If it’s not fun, kids won’t stick with it.