CO2 or CA ?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
rcmillerjr

CO2 or CA ?

Post by rcmillerjr »

I'm sure this question has been beaten to death time and time again, and I apologize, but I am new to air guns. I am a pistol shooter, and would like to obtain an olympic quality air pistol. I see some used C02 guns on the market, and what I gather from all I've read that they are a thing of the past and compressed air is the thing now. But from what I see, a lot of the major records are still held by C02 guns. I don't need the latest up to date equipment as I am near 70 years old and could never hope to attain olympic status. Money is not an object, but I hate to waste it if I don't need to purchase the latest up to date equipment. Is there a major drawback to using CO2?? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Steve Swartz

Post by Steve Swartz »

Some points to consider:

- I don't think you can make a strong case that CO2 is any more accurate than PCP. CO2 was the dominant technology back when the records were set. There are other factors in play that may explain the inability of today's shooters to break those records (scoring technology is somewhat less "forgiving" than manual scoring was, for one example).

- CO2 may have up front advantages in price initially, but the long term costs may run higher.

- The "hassle factor" may also be worth considering. Availability, scales, refrigerators, etc. etc. might factor in to your decision.