basic ap ballistics questions

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
gordonfriesen

Post by gordonfriesen »

Folks,

Please bear with me here, as I am an airgun novice.

What are the basic ballistics of airpistols at different speeds? How flat is the trajectory out to 10 meters? What is the effect on target position of different weights of pellets? What is the usual weight (or choice thereof) for target grade pellets?

Thanks,

Gordon
Rover

Post by Rover »

I'm not quite sure what you're asking, but here's some answers anyway.

Pellet weights run from 7 grains up to about 8.4 grains. I like lighter ones in the lower powered guns, but it really doesn't seem to make a difference except that it might cut a slightly cleaner hole in the target.

I asked Don Nygord about this once, and he said it just didn't matter what weight one used.

Most pistols will shoot at around (give or take) 500 f.p.s. and pellet weight does not seem to change the point of impact more than, say, a click. I don't make a sight change when switching from 5m to 10m shooting.

I often throw the ends of the odd can of pellets into one and use them for practice. APs are pretty forgiving, but I can't speak to the higher accuracy demands of Air Rifle shooting.
gordonfriesen

Post by gordonfriesen »

Rover,

Thanks for the info. I did my sighting in at 5 meters, and was wondering what would happen at 10. More particularly, my gun seems to be set up to shoot higher than I like (sights all the way down and sub-six hold still a little high), and I wondered if that meant my shots would be falling off at 10 meters.

Best Regards,

Gordon
tenex

Post by tenex »

Hi Gordon,