First baby steps ---Rapid Fire training ideas, anyone?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
John Kasaian

First baby steps ---Rapid Fire training ideas, anyone?

Post by John Kasaian »

I am trying to come up with a sound beginner's training plan. I have shot police revolver and centerfire in the past, but please keep in mind that I am new to this discipline so go easy on me!

First plateau---dryfire, holding the weapon at the 45 deg. while looking at the base on the target stand, raising the pistol and picking up the rear sight in focus before getting on target before dry firing.
I'll do this until the movement becomes second nature and keep it as part of the "warm up" exercise.

Second plateau--- with live ammunition with two targets, starting with the weapon at the 45 deg., picking up the rear sight, firing, then lateral to the second target and firing again. I'll keep this up until I can reliably shoot 10's on both targets.

Third plateau---live ammunition and five targets with an 8 second timer until I can reliably shoot 10s.

Then work on gradually increasng speed to 6 seconds, then 4.

I've yet to find a coach in this discipline in my area, but I understand there are some matches in the SF Bay area and S. California and Arizona. I figure that if I can get to my "third plateau" I might find some coaching or clinics to attend away from home.

Of course my biggest concern is developing bad habits, especially since I won't have the advantage of a coach.

So what do you think of my cobbled up (so far) training plan? Any suggestions? Any recommended resources?
Muffo

Post by Muffo »