Tearing Shot Holes

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
jimsoars

Tearing Shot Holes

Post by jimsoars »

I just started shooting AP again - my last regular shooting was back in the early 90s. I picked up a Pardini K60 and I am really enjoying shooting it. One odd thing is that I seem to get a lot of tears in the paper rather than clean holes. I don't remember this happening when I shot my FWB 65. I'm shooting RWS hobby pellets. The targets are a new batch of B40s from National Target. I also am shooting AR and don't seem to have the tearing problem with those targets.

So - is this normal, or could it be the targets, the pellets or AP velocity? I don't have a chrony - so I don't know the AP velocity.

Jim
Freepistol

Post by Freepistol »

Jim, I shoot Vogel in my Morini and was tearing holes until I turned up the velocity. I don't have a chronograph either, so I just cranked the adjustment an half turn and that did the trick. {Some of the tears only had an imprint of the pellet on the paper}
Ben
Fred Mannis

Post by Fred Mannis »

The National Targets use very poor quality paper. Try a pack of Edelmann targets and you will see the difference.
Brian M

Post by Brian M »

I put a backer of masking tape (2" wide, blue in color) to the bull area. This has eliminated the tearing problem I was having. IZH 46m's don't have a "velocity" setting, so I was forced to find another solution.

Takes a second or two for each target, but that's not really a big deal to me.

Brian

ShootingAir.com
Last edited by Brian M on Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jrmcdaniel

Post by jrmcdaniel »