Starting a new shooting club.

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

brvirell

Starting a new shooting club.

Post by brvirell »

I am a college student and am attempting to start a shooting club at my university. The university is liberal as far as gun policy goes, and the nearest range is the private range I've shot at since I was ten, but I would like to give it a shot anyways.
I think I have three ways of approaching this each way with different goals.

1- Start a school sponsored club to get funding from the university, and just shoot at my range. And try to get a gun safe on campus. (Problem: what’s in it for them to have the safe on campus?)

2- Un-officially start a club by submitting flyers to go around campus boosting interest to get people to join my club and the shooting teams there.

3- Start an actual university shooting team proposing to the school that they build a range to attract students and prestige. (Problem: convincing the university there is enough in it for them, and coming up with a really good proposal analyzing economic factors in building a range and having a team - I don’t know where to get any of that information I would also need to know statistics on what majors are studied by target shooters, as well as how they would acquire a coaching staff).

If anyone would be so kind as to comment on my ideas and if possible comment on how to go about getting the necessary information for plan 3, I would greatly appreciate it so I can better weigh the alternatives and select the most prudent approach.
Thank you
Steve N

Post by Steve N »