Staying in your own lane

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Nicole Hamilton

Staying in your own lane

Post by Nicole Hamilton »

I'm quite new to smallbore, so perhaps my experience last night comes under the heading of distractions you just need to ignore. But let me tell the story and get some advice.

I guess I should have known better than set up next to this particular young fellow. When I first came in, his stuff was so spread out it was hard to tell which of three lanes was his. He had an overly wide mat with "tails" on either side, his gun was setting in a box (like the one I described in another thread) in the next lane to the right along with a duffel bag of odds and ends and his scope was in the lane to the left with another bag of stuff. But I've been shooting both pistol and smallbore in the same lane, the one to his right, for several weeks and, while I'm not superstitious, I do like keeping things the same as much as possible, so I confirmed he was in lane 9 and politely asked if he could make some room for me to set up in 10.

It was crowded next to this guy all through the match but not to the point of distraction 'till it came to the offhand portion. But what he did then just drove me bonkers. He set up his rifle stand so that when he rested the gun between shots, it wasn't pointed straight down the lane, it was at a 45 degree angle with the muzzle almost dead square in the middle of my lane (but over the red line.) Every time he lifted the gun or set it down, there was this damn gun barrel moving around right in front of me!

I could stand it only for about 4 or 5 shots before turning to him to tell him, as politely as I could under the circumstances, that this was very distracting. Oh, okay, and he moved a little, but realistically not enough to actually do anything. I ended up turning in the worst OH string I have ever shot!