optimum out-of-box weight for pistol

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
ben

Post by ben »

Background: I am 73 and have chronic neck and shoulder pain. Physical strength has also decreased. Some years ago I obtained a Steyr LP5P and found repeatedly lifting same a real pain: fatigue setting in within 10 shots; and my grouping also was a pain. I saw a 60 shot course of fire as unachievable. I have 60 years of shooting experience, including full-bore pistol, and immediately felt that the LP5P was un-necessarily heavy.

Recently I obtained a Steyr LP2 Compact chosen deliberately for its lesser weight. I have to say that the weight problem is resolved. The Compact pistol gives absolutely NOTHING away to its heavier brethren in shooting quality: excepting that the back-sight notch is not adjustable.

The manufacturer's test group is the usual very small hole and the trigger is very good. I find with the out-of-box pistol that tremor now appears, separately, from the hand, and from the shoulder. That from the hand can be drastically reduced by the addition of a 24 gram weight up front. A 60 shot fire course now appears possible: and can be achieved on one filling of the air cylinder.

The handling improvement is so great that I an thinking of modifying the LP5P to a similar configuration. That is, if I can discover how to separate the barrel from the gun.

Some time ago I posted here a comment that reducing the weight of an overweight pistol was extremely difficult. I am led to the conclusion that all manufacturers seem to have overlooked the possibilities from making their premium products of lighter weight.