Must i get a centering device if i buy shooting glasses?

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Must i get a centering device if i buy shooting glasses?

Post by Guest »

Is it necessary? Extra device means extra money. Current using Knobloch K1. I just bought it.
David Levene

Post by David Levene »

You shouldn't need to buy a centering device provided that you know people who can help you set up the lens position correctly, your frames are capable of holding a setting and you do not use differing extreme stances.

I have been using a set of basic Champions for over 20 years and have never needed a centering device. I have however always had access to a good shooting optician and coaches who knew how to set a lens up.
WSmith

Post by WSmith »

The centering device is necessary when using an adjustable iris. If your pupil is not exactly centered in the lens/iris, the aperature openings will begin to "fuzz out" as you stop it down. If you're planning on using your glasses as a platform for color filter and/or positive corrective filter lenses - +25. +50, etc., - then the centering device is merely for peace-of-mind.
Fortitudo Dei

Post by Fortitudo Dei »